Summit Sprint: Cadel Evans, Bradley Wiggins, and Vincenzo Nibali in the 2012 Tour de France

Tour de France 100: A Photographic History of the Tour de France; TDF100
Cadel Evans, Vincenzo Nibali, Bradley Wiggins

Defending champion Cadel Evans leads Bradley Wiggins and Vincenzo Nibali, who would eventually finish third, at the end of stage 7, to La Planche des Belles Filles, the first summit finish of the 2012 Tour.

This photograph celebrating the history of the Tour de France is one of 250 rare and restored photographs from the new book Tour de France 100, which is featured this June and July in your local Barnes & Noble bookstore. Please visit tomorrow morning to see a new image from the history of the Tour de France.

The Tour de France, first staged in 1903, is the world’s greatest sports spectacle, packed with heart-stopping drama, legendary rivalries, bitter tragedy, and outright farce. To celebrate the 100th Tour de France, award-winning author Richard Moore has researched Tour de France 100, a superb celebration in photographs and stories about the world’s greatest race.

All images on this website published by VeloPress with permission of their copyright holders, including but not limited to Getty Images, Agence France Presse, L’Equipe, Gamma-Keystone, Pressesports, and Gamma-Rapho.

Get our newsletter!

* indicates required