The First Double Winner of the Tour de France: Maurice Garin

Tour de France 100: A Photographic History of the Tour de France; TDF100

The first double winner after Maurice Garin was stripped of his second Tour, Petit-Breton was a member of the powerful Peugeot team who won in 1907 and 1908, the 1908 runner-up, Petit-Breton was a casualty of World War I, dying when he crashed into an oncoming vehicle near the front in Troyes in December 1917.

This photograph celebrating the history of the Tour de France is one of 250 rare and restored photographs from the book Tour de France 100.

The Tour de France, first staged in 1903, is the world’s greatest sports spectacle, packed with heart-stopping drama, legendary rivalries, bitter tragedy, and outright farce. To celebrate the 100th Tour de France, award-winning author Richard Moore has researched Tour de France 100, a superb celebration in photographs and stories about the world’s greatest race.

All images on this website published by VeloPress with permission of their copyright holders, including but not limited to Getty Images, Agence France Presse, L’Equipe, Gamma-Keystone, Pressesports, and Gamma-Rapho.


Get our newsletter!

* indicates required